Kissinger Research Group
 Home News People Research Funding Jobs Publications Photos Courses Lab Links Internal Contact 
Principal Investigator  top

    Dr. Kissinger is interested in parasite genomics and the biology of genome evolution. Her research focuses on, but is not limited to, Apicomplexan parasites.
    Our approach is to apply molecular, computational and phylogenetic tools to the analysis of parasite genomes. Projects include the development of tools for data mining, comparative genomics and assessing the phylogenetic distribution of genes.
    I welcome students interested in working on the bench, at the computer, or both.
    For more information on Dr. Kissinger, click here

Dr. Kissinger

Lab Staff Directory  top
Parasite Genome Research Group

Baptista

Choche

DeBarry

Korunes

Mahmud

Nayak

Nural

Pakala

Ranjani
 

Parasite Genome Database Group

Cristina A.

Guidry

Falke

Gingle

Heiges

Wang

Warrenfelz

Wenthe

Photo Lab Staff Major Interest
Rodrigo Baptista
Visiting Student from Brazil
@uga.edu
Akshay Choche, M.S.
Computer Science Graduate Student
achoche@uga.edu
Interests: Web Service, Ontology, Indexing, Information Retrieval, Implementing Real Time Search.
Cristina Aurrecoechea, Ph.D.
Program Specialist
aurreco@uga.edu
Computer Science, Database communication
Jeremy DeBarry
Research Scientist
jdebarry@uga.edu
Computational Biology, Genome Evolution, Comparative Genomics, Transposable Elements Biology
Katharine Korunes
Undergraduate Honor Student
Dave Falke
Web Developer
dfalke@uga.edu
Web Development of database resources for bioinformatics and genome data.
Alan Gingle, Ph.D.
Database Administrator
agingle@uga.edu
Development of database resources for bioinformatics and genome data.
Mark Heiges
Project Manager
mheiges@uga.edu
Genome database design, computational biology
Ousman Mahmud
Graduate Student
Vishal Nayak, M.S.
MaHPIC Senior Data Developer and Bioinformatics Programmer/Analyst
vishal.nayak@gmail.com
Mustafa Nural, Graduate in Computer Science
nural@uga.edu
Suman Pakala, Ph.D.
spakala@uga.edu
Sivaranjani Namasivayam
Ph.D. Student IOB
ranjani.n15@gmail.com
Matt Guidry
System Administrator
mguidry@uga.edu
Haiming Wang, M.S.
Program Specialist
hwang@uga.edu
Bioinformatics, UI design, data mining and statistical implementation.
Betsy Wenthe
Administrative Associate I
jckadmin@uga.edu
Susanne Warrenfelz, Ph.D.
EuPathDB Outreach
swfeltz@uga.edu

Our Esteemed Collaborators  top

Striepen

Tarleton

Kraemer

Miller

Roos

Stoeckert

Galinski

Gibson

Voit
Photo Collaborators Major Interest Contact Info
Boris Striepen
Cellular Biology, CTEGD, UGA
Molecular basis of intracellular parasitism striepen@cellmate.cb.uga.edu
Rick Tarleton
Cellular Biology, CTEGD, UGA
Immunology and Pathogenesis of Trypanosoma cruzi infection and the resulting disease syndrome known as Chagas disease tarleton@cb.uga.edu
Eileen Kraemer
Computer Science, UGA
Bioinformatics, human-computer interaction, interactive computational steering, simulation eileen@cs.uga.edu
John Miller
Computer Science, UGA
Database systems, simulation, workflow, parallel and distributed systems jam@cs.uga.edu
David Roos
Dept of Biology, UPENN
Cell biology and molecular genetics of protozoan parasites; Eukaryotic evolution; Genome database designing and mining; Computational biology droos@sas.upenn.edu
Chris Stoeckert
CBIL, UPENN
Informatics infrastructure for gene annotation and expression analysis stoeckrt@pcbi.upenn.edu
Mary Galinski, Ph.D
Area of Research: Malaria
Greg Gibson, Ph.D
Genomic approaches to human genetics; variability of gene expression; systems biology of disease; theory of canalization and biological robustness. greg.gibson@biology.gatech.edu
Eberhard Voit, Ph.D
Biomedical Systems, Metabolic Pathways, Biochemical Systems Theory, S-systems

Past Lab Members  top

Aguero

Ali

Brewer

Pitts

Bridgers

Cozad

Duys

Ding

Gao

Hall

He

Hirsch

Jonathan

Kaluskar

Laseter

Patel

Mathis

Mendes

Mullapudi

Oliveira

Oluwadare

Rhodes

Storm

Robinson

Joseph

Smalls

Su

Thibodeau

Wu

Xiao

Zheng

Fatumo

Nyasa

Panahiazar

Pennington

Burres

Byrd

Alok D.

Oberstaller

Wolf

Ganesh S.

Visiting Scholars

Aguia

Ibrikci

Xu

Yu

Zerlotini

Acosta

Claypoole

Meneses
Photo Current Position Contact
Amit Agrawal
Computer Science Student
 
Alok Dhamanaskar, M.S.
Computer Science Graduate
Web Service, Ontology
Fernan Aguero
Visiting Researcher
fernan@iib.unsam.edu.ar
Mohammed Sohaib Ali
Visiting Student
msali@uga.edu
Mathematical Modelling & Bioinformatics
Abhijeet Bakre
Post-doc in Infectious Deseases at UGA
bakre@uga.edu
Ariel Campbell
arielmc@uga.edu
Graduated from Dept. of Biochemistry
Brian Pitts

Doug Brewer, Ph.D.
CS Graduate
twisted@uga.edu
Workflow, Web Service
Joshua Bridgers
IOB graduate student
Genome annotation
Madeline Cozad
Undergraduate
mcozad@uga.edu
 
Isaac John Van Duys
Undergraduate Researcher
 
Shanshan Ding
Research Asistant/CS Graduate
shanshan@uga.edu
 
Karen Hermetz
Laboratory Technician at Emory University
khermetz@uga.edu
Segun Fatumo
Ph.D. of Covenant University in Nigeria
Joining our research group for 6 months of collaborative bioinformatics research.
Xin Gao
Computer Science Graduate Student
jerric@uga.edu
Computer graphics, networking, and travel around if I have a lot of money
Gregorio Perez Cordon, Ph.D.
Post-Doc
gpcordon@uga.edu
Chih-Horng Kuo
Genetics Ph.D.
chkuo@uga.edu
Post-doctoral researcher with Howard Ochman and the University of Arizona
Erica Hall
Undergraduate
eureeka7@uga.edu
Molecular genetics and intracellular gene transfer
Cong-Zhou He
Computer Science Graduate Student
congzhou@uga.edu
Semantic web, database, natural language processing
Gwen Hirsch
Research Technician III
ghirsch@uga.edu
  Ladson Gaddy
Undergraduate Researcher
Medical School UNC-Chapel Hill
Jonathan Gardner
Undergraduate Researcher
garddog@uga.edu
Graduated from Dept. of Genetics/Biology
Kathy Jones
Administrative Associate I
jckadmin@uga.edu
Master's student in Early Childhood Education ECCO program
Jonathan Trebble-Greening

Nivedita Kaluskar
Computer Science Graduate Student
npk@uga.edu
Libby Mathis
Laboratory Technician II
el76ma@uga.edu
 

Pablo Mendes
Computer Science Ph.D. Student
pablo@pablomendes.com
Semantic Web, ontologies and its application to bioinformatics
Nandita Mullapudi
Genetics Graduate Student
nandita@uga.edu
Molecular genetics and gene regulation
Jenna Oberstaller
Genetics Graduate
oberstal@uga.edu
Apicomplexan parasite genomics and transcriptional regulation
Ganesh Srinivasamoorthy
Scientific Computing Specialist
ganesh@uga.edu
Genomics, Bioinformatics
Janie Wolf
Temporary Administrative Associate
jckadmin@uga.edu
Lela A. Buchanan Laseter
Undergraduate Researcher
lelal@uga.edu
Cell lines and Wet lab stuff
Maryam Panahiazar
Ph.D. Student
mp@uga.edu
Functional genomics, microarray data analysis, computational genomics and data mining
Jatan Patel
Undergraduate Researcher
Carry Pennington, M.S.
Scientific Computing Professional Specialist
carypen@uga.edu
Web service
Bobby Burres
Student Worker
Allyson Byrd
Genetics Undergraduate
She has joined the research group. She will begin with a bioinformatics project
  Deepa Raju
Undergraduate Summer Researcher
Undergraduate UGA
Jinling Huang
Post-doctoral Researcher
Post-doc, J. Peter Gogarten Laboratory at the University of Connecticut
Email: Jinling (at) carrot.mcb.uconn.edu
  Marla Scott
Laboratory Technician
Graduate Student, South Carolina
  Jianliang Dai
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
Post-doc Prof. Jonathan Arnold, UGA
  Chetna Warade
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
IBM
  Michael Luchtan
Programmer
Musician
  Angel Smith
Undergraduate Researcher
Gymnastics Instructor
  Dongwoo Lee
Work Study Student
 
  Jianping Zhu
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
 
  Michele Sturgeon
Laboratory Technician
Laboratory Technician, UGA
  Minal Agrawal
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
Graduate School UGA
Philippa Rhodes
Computer Science Graduate Student
rhodes@cs.uga.edu
Kelly Storm, M.S.
CS Graduate
stormymx@uga.edu
Data federation, Web Service, and User Interface Design
Ed Robinson
Program Specialist
erobinso@uga.edu
Bioinformatics application architectures, data mining and algorithm design.
Sandeep Jose Joseph
Ph.D. Post-doc
sandeep@uga.edu
Gene expression data analysis, computational biology and bioinformatics
Emory University for a second post-doctoral position
Adriana de Andrade Oliveira, Ph.D.
Postdoc
adriana@uga.edu
Bioinformatics softwar design, analysis and development.
Mopelola Oluwadare
Undergraduate
Mopelola@uga.edu
Molecular biology and parasitology
Chris Ross
Program Specialist
cross01@uga.edu
User inferface design and Web site development
Yanqi Su
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
Graduate School UGA
Shaneka Smalls
Undergraduate Student
Clark Atlanta University
  Daniel Mammola
Work Study Student
 
Sam Wang
Computer Science Graduate Student
samwzm@uga.edu
Bioinformatics, web service, database technology, algorithm, swimming, and basketball
Ryan Thibodeau
Program Specialist
ryanthib@uga.edu
Yunzhou Wu
Research Assistant/CS Graduate
wuyzh@uga.edu
Web Service and BPEL
Wenyuan Xiao
Genetics Graduate
wenyuan@uga.edu
UGA BCMB Graduate
Adhemar Zerlotini
Visiting Graduate
Genomics and Metabolic Pathways.
John Alejandro Acosta Dávila
Visiting Scholar
Brynn Claypoole
Visiting REU Undergraduate
Catalina Alvarez Meneses
Visiting Student
Raymond Nyasa
Graduate student in Cameroon
Joining our research group for 6 months of bioinformatics training
Wenlong Zheng
Web manager
Northwest Missouri State University
zheng@nwmissouri.edu

Eric Aguia
Visiting Scholor from the Centro de Pesquisas René Rachou - FIOCRUZ, Brazil
Turgay Ibrikci
Visiting scholar from Curkurova University in Turkey.
Dr. Ibrikci will be visiting the lab for a short sabbatical from Curkurova University in Turkey beginning in June, 2011. He is interested in computational approaches to understanding gene regulation.
Huayong (Tim) Xu
Visiting Scholor from SCBIT, Shanghai China
Fudong Yu
Visiting Scholor from SCBIT, Shanghai China
Adhemar Zerlotini
Visiting Scholor from the Centro de Pesquisas René Rachou - FIOCRUZ, Brazil
Contact: jckadmin@uga.edu    Last modified: Tuesday, 06-Aug-2013 09:31:55 EDT
The Center for Tropical & Emerging Global Diseases & Department of Genetics
University of Georgia, 500 D.W. Brooks Drive, 145 Paul D. Coverdell Center. Athens, GA 30602-7399