Kissinger Research Group
 Home News People Research Funding Jobs Publications Photos Courses Lab Links Internal Contact 
Principal Investigator  top
How do eukaryotic genomes evolve? Our lab is interested in parasite genomics and the biology of genome evolution. The genomes of parasitic eukaryotes are often highly-reduced, devoid of recognizable mobile elements and riddled with intracellular and lateral gene transfers. Our approach is to apply molecular, computational and phylogenetic tools to the analysis of parasite genomes. Projects include the development of tools for data integration, data mining, comparative genomics and the systems biology of host-pathogen interactions. Research focuses on Toxoplasma gondii, Cryptosporidium species and Plasmodium species. Researchers in our group work at the bench, at the computer, or both.
Dr. Kissinger

Lab Staff Directory  top
Parasite Evolutionary Genomics Group

Baptista

Basu

Li

EuPathDB Parasite Genome Database Group

Cristina A.

Belnap

Falke

Hatfield

Heiges

Spruill

Wang

Warrenfelz

MaHPIC & DARPA Systems Biology Group

DeBarry

Gingle

Humphrey

Nural

Stealey

Photo Lab Staff Major Interest
Cristina Aurrecoechea Ph.D.
Scientific Computing Professional Principal
aurreco@uga.edu
Computer Science, Database communication
Rodrigo Baptista
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Shubham Basu
Graduate student
Bob Belnap

Jeremy DeBarry
Data Coordinator
jdebarry@uga.edu
Computational Biology, Genome Evolution, Comparative Genomics, Transposable Elements Biology
Dave Falke
Web Development of database resources for bioinformatics and genome data.
dfalke@uga.edu
Alan Gingle Ph.D.
Database Administrator
agingle@uga.edu
Development of database resources for bioinformatics and genome data
Rachel Hatfield

Mark Heiges
Project Manager
mheiges@uga.edu
Genome database design, computational biology
Jay Humphrey

Yiran Li
Graduate Student
Genome annotation and evolution
Mustafa Nural
Graduate in Computer Science
nural@uga.edu
Drew Spruill
System Administrator
spruill@uga.edu
Hannah Stealey

Haiming Wang
Scientific Computing Professional Principal
hwang@uga.edu
Bioinformatics, UI design, data mining and statistical implementation.
Susanne Warrenfelz Ph.D.
EuPathDB Outreach
swfeltz@uga.edu

Our Esteemed Collaborators  top

Striepen

Tarleton

Kraemer

Miller

Roos

Stoeckert

Galinski

Gibson

Voit
Photo Collaborators Major Interest Contact Info
Boris Striepen
Cellular Biology, CTEGD, UGA
Molecular basis of intracellular parasitism striepen@cellmate.cb.uga.edu
Rick Tarleton
Cellular Biology, CTEGD, UGA
Immunology and Pathogenesis of Trypanosoma cruzi infection and the resulting disease syndrome known as Chagas disease tarleton@cb.uga.edu
Eileen Kraemer
Computer Science, UGA
Bioinformatics, human-computer interaction, interactive computational steering, simulation eileen@cs.uga.edu
John Miller
Computer Science, UGA
Database systems, simulation, workflow, parallel and distributed systems jam@cs.uga.edu
David Roos
Dept of Biology, UPENN
Cell biology and molecular genetics of protozoan parasites; Eukaryotic evolution; Genome database designing and mining; Computational biology droos@sas.upenn.edu
Chris Stoeckert
CBIL, UPENN
Informatics infrastructure for gene annotation and expression analysis stoeckrt@pcbi.upenn.edu
Mary Galinski, Ph.D
Area of Research: Malaria
Greg Gibson, Ph.D
Genomic approaches to human genetics; variability of gene expression; systems biology of disease; theory of canalization and biological robustness. greg.gibson@biology.gatech.edu
Eberhard Voit, Ph.D
Biomedical Systems, Metabolic Pathways, Biochemical Systems Theory, S-systems

Past Lab Members  top

Aguia

Ali

Allman

Assis

Bakre

Basenko

Brewer

Bridgers

Burres

Byrd

Cozad

Davila

Alok D.

Ding

Duys

Fatumo

Gao

Griffith

Guidry

Hall

Ibrikci

Jonathan

Jones

Joseph

Kaluskar

Korunes

Laseter

Legall

Mahmud

Mathis

Mullapudi

Nayak

Nyasa

Oberstaller

Oliveira

Oluwadare

Pakala

Panahiazar

Patel

Pennington

Rhodes

Robinson

Ross

Smalls

Ganesh S

Storm

Su

Thibodeau

Wang

Wenthe

Xiao

Xu

Yu

Zerlotini

Zheng
Photo Current Position Contact
Amit Agrawal
Computer Science Student
Minal Agrawal
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
Graduate School UGA
Fernan Aguero
Visiting Researcher
fernan@iib.unsam.edu.ar
Eric Aguia
Visiting Scholor from the Centro de Pesquisas Rene Rachou - FIOCRUZ, Brazil
Mohammed Sohaib Ali
Visiting Student
msali@uga.edu
Mathematical Modelling & Bioinformatics
Brent Allman

Juliana Assis
Visiting Student from Brazil
Bioinformatics and Computational biology, Genome Assembly and annotation
Abhijeet Bakre
Post-doc
bakre@uga.edu
Post-doc in Infectious Deseases at UGA
Evelina Basenko
Scientific Computing Professional Principal
Community outreach specialist with a focus on fungal biology and genetics.
Doug Brewer
CS Graduate
twisted@uga.edu
Workflow, Web Service
Joshua Bridgers
IOB graduate student
Genome annotation
Bobby Burres
Student Worker
Allyson Byrd
Genetics Undergraduate
She has joined the research group. She will begin with a bioinformatics project.
Ariel Campbell

arielmc@uga.edu
Graduated from Dept. of Biochemistry
Akshay Choche M.S.
Computer Science Graduate Student
achoche@uga.edu
Web Service, Ontology, Indexing, Information Retrieval, Implementing Real Time Search.
Brynn Claypoole
Visiting REU Undergraduate
Madeline Cozad
Undergraduate
mcozad@uga.edu
Jianliang Dai
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
Post-doc Prof. Jonathan Arnold, UGA
John Alejandro Acosta Davila
Visiting Scholar
Alok Dhamanaskar M.S.
Computer Science Graduate
Web Service, Ontology
Shanshan Ding
Research Asistant/CS Graduate
shanshan@uga.edu
Isaac John Van Duys
Undergraduate Researche
Segun Fatumo
Ph.D. of Covenant University in Nigeria
Joining our research group for 6 months of collaborative bioinformatics research.
Ladson Gaddy
Undergraduate Researcher
Medical School UNC-Chapel Hill
Xin Gao
Computer Science Graduate Student
jerric@uga.edu
Computer graphics, networking, and travel around if I have a lot of money
Jonathan Gardner
Undergraduate Researcher
garddog@uga.edu
Graduated from Dept. of Genetics/Biology
Shelton Griffith
Graduate Research Assistant
Evolution of Cryptosporidium species
Matt Guidry
System Administrator
mguidry@uga.edu
He left in March 2016 for the Board of Regents
Erica Hall
Undergraduate
eureeka7@uga.edu
Molecular genetics and intracellular gene transfer
Cong-Zhou He
Computer Science Graduate Student
congzhou@uga.edu
Semantic web, database, natural language processing
Gwen Hirsch
Research Technician III
ghirsch@uga.edu
Jingling Huang
Post-doctoral Researcher
Post-doc, J. Peter Gogarten Laboratory at the University of Connecticut
Turgay Ibrikci
Visiting scholar from Curkurova University in Turkey.
Dr. Ibrikci will be visiting the lab for a short sabbatical from Curkurova University in Turkey beginning in June, 2011. He is interested in computational approaches to understanding gene regulation.
Jonathan JonatTrebble-Greeninghan

Kathy Jones
Administrative Associate I
jckadmin@uga.edu
Master's student in Early Childhood Education ECCO program
Sandeep Jose Joseph Ph.D.
Post-doc
sandeep@uga.edu
Gene expression data analysis, computational biology and bioinformatics
Nivedita Kaluskar
Computer Science Graduate Student
npk@uga.edu
Katharine Korunes
Undergraduate Honor Student
Lela A. Buchanan Laseter
Undergraduate Researcher
lelal@uga.edu
Cell lines and Wet lab stuff
Dongwoo Lee
Work Study Student
Noah Legall

Michael Luchtan
Programmer
Musician
Ousman Mahmud
Graduate Student
Libby Mathis
Laboratory Technician II
el76ma@uga.edu
Pablo Mendes
Computer Science Ph.D. Student
pablo@pablomendes.com
Semantic Web, ontologies and its application to bioinformatics
Catalina Alvarez Meneses
Visiting Student
Nandita Mullapudi
Genetics Graduate Student
nandita@uga.edu
Molecular genetics and gene regulation
Vishal Nayak M.S.
MaHPIC Senior Data Developer and Bioinformatics Programmer/Analyst
vishal.nayak@gmail.com
Raymond Nyasa
Graduate student in Cameroon
Joining our research group for 6 months of bioinformatics training
Jenna Oberstaller
Genetics Graduate
oberstal@uga.edu
Apicomplexan parasite genomics and transcriptional regulation
Adriana de Andrade Oliveira Ph.D.
Postdoc
adriana@uga.edu
Bioinformatics softwar design, analysis and development.
Mopelola Oluwadare
Undergraduate
Mopelola@uga.edu
Molecular biology and parasitology
Irfan Ozen

Suman Pakala Ph.D.

spakala@uga.edu
Maryam Panahiazar
Ph.D. Student
mp@uga.edu
Functional genomics, microarray data analysis, computational genomics and data mining
Jatan Patel
Undergraduate Researcher
Cary Pennington M.S.
Scientific Computing Professional Specialist
carypen@uga.edu
Web service
Brian Pitts

Deepa Raju
Undergraduate Summer Researcher
Sivaranjani Ranjani
Ph.D. Student IOB
She graduate in 2015 and now works at NIH
Philippa Rhodes
Computer Science Graduate Student
rhodes@cs.uga.edu
Ed Robinson
Program Specialist
erobinso@uga.ed
Bioinformatics application architectures, data mining and algorithm design.
Chris Ross
Program Specialist
cross01@uga.edu
User inferface design and Web site development
Marla Scott
Laboratory Technician
Graduate Student, South Carolina
Shaneka Smalls
Undergraduate Student
Agnel Smith
Undergraduate Researcher
Gymnastics Instructor
Ganesh Srinivasamoorthy
Scientific Computing Specialist
ganesh@uga.edu
Genomics, Bioinformatics
Kelly Storm M.S.
CS Graduate
stormymx@uga.edu
Data federation, Web Service, and User Interface Design<
Michele Sturgeon
Laboratory Technician
Laboratory Technician, UGA
Yanqi Su
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
Ryan Thibodeau
Program Specialist
ryanthib@uga.edu
Sam Wang
Computer Science Graduate Student
samwzm@uga.edu
Bioinformatics, web service, database technology, algorithm, swimming, and basketball
Chetna Warade
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
IBM
Betsy Wenthe
Administrative Associate II
jckadmin@uga.edu
Janie Wolf
Temporary Administrative Associate
jckadmin@uga.edu
Yunzhou Wu
Research Assistant/CS Graduate
wuyzh@uga.edu
Web Service and BPEL
Wenyuan Xiao
Genetics Graduate
wenyuan@uga.edu
Huayong (Tim) Xu
Visiting Scholor from SCBIT, Shanghai China
Fudong Yu
Visiting Scholor from SCBIT, Shanghai China
Adhemar Zerlotini
Visiting Scholor from the Centro de Pesquisas Rene Rachou - FIOCRUZ, Brazil
Wenlong Zheng

zheng@nwmissouri.edu
Jianping Zhu
Research Assistant Comp Sci.
Contact: jckadmin@uga.edu    Last modified: Wednesday, 17-May-2017 15:41:22 EDT
The Center for Tropical & Emerging Global Diseases & Department of Genetics
University of Georgia, 500 D.W. Brooks Drive, 145 Paul D. Coverdell Center. Athens, GA 30602-7399